Fried rice using leftovers

Hi guys! It’s the day before school goes back and the house is filled with an excited nervous energy. The holidays as always went so fast and I enjoyed them way more than expected….this happens every year, I dread them but when it ends I realise I loved them.

Today I’m making fried rice using leftovers. I hate food going to waste and this recipe is the best base for using up bits and pieces.  You can add so many different things to it. Today it has everything lol. We have tofu, a piece of bacon, a bit of chicken, cabbage and carrot. Plus the basics like peas and sweet corn…these are my basics anyway. So for the base which btw is great alone you need

  • 1-2 cups of cooked rice
  • 2 tbsps olive oil
  • 4 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbs worstochire sauce
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • Half cup sweet corn

    Start by cooking rice, while that cooks heat oil in hot pan or wok and add any meat, tofu, onion or anything that needs to cook usually first. Add in garlic and ginger then the sauces let simmer for a few minutes.

    Add peas, corn and any veg or cooked egg next. Once veg is softened and coated in juices add in rice a few chunks at a time. 

    I always add a little chilli, salt and pepper for a kick but you don’t need to.

    I love this versatile recipe, I hope it helps lessen the leftover throw out in your house too.

    Peace 

    Mwah x

    Leave a Reply

    