Almond Meal Muffins

I feel like a true Health nut when I bake with Almond Meal, like I’m some kind of special breed. Yes I use Almond Meal instead of flour, aha yes that is I, almighty healthy baker.

Almond Meal is great for baking, I’ve used it to bake Muffins, a small loaf of bread , cookies and pancakes. I always go back to this muffin recipe that I pieced together from a bunch of other recipes and it works everytime. (Recipe below).

Almond Meal, clearly from almonds has all the health benefits that almonds have .. again it’s just fine almonds really. So it’s naturally cholesterol free, an excellent source of Iron, contains Vitamin E, B Vitamins, niacin and folate. Almonds contain more nutrients per serve than any other tree nut. Minerals include calcium, potassium, phosphorus and zinc.

Even though these muffins are higher in calories and dear god do I wish I could reduce my intake while trying to lose my baby weight I feel these muffins are worthy as I stay fuller for longer due to the protein, good fat and fibre from the Almond Meal….so really it’s all good calories.

Recipe

2 x cups Almond Meal (Purchased from The Central Markets in Adelaide)

1-2 mashed bananas (Central Markets also)

2 x eggs – well mixed (I used our own eggs from our free range chickens)

2 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Vanilla Extract or essence

1/4 cup Coconut flour (Goodies & Grains)

3 x Tbsps Coconut Oil

2 tbsp Sugar (This time I used caster but mostly I use honey or raw sugar but I was out of both)

Heat oven to 180 degrees. Mix dry ingredients together, mix wet ingredients together then pour and mix all together…simple as that, then into muffin holes and bake for 20 minutes.

Today I topped with a sprinkle of muesli – this is optional.

Makes 8 big muffins or 12 regular.

Estimated cost $1.80 each

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

